27
Mar
09

Deer Runs

IMG_6135

White-tailed deer will travel the same trails over and over, creating deer runs or deer trails whichever you prefer.

IMG_6136

My dad tells several hunting stories that involve him sitting on a deer run and watching as a doe or young buck will pass through without noticing him.

IMG_6137

I took these pictures yesterday while hiking, anticipating that sooner or later I would get some shots of some deer and then I could write this article.  Then I took some background shots of the type of dense cover that these trails pass through, so I could explain how difficult spotting a deer can be.

IMG_6143

Now understand, I was just shooting shots of the woods so I could explain how difficult finding deer can be.

IMG_6145

Look very closely in the center of the picture.  I tell you in all honesty, I didn’t even see it standing there.  I was just pointing the camera into the woods and shooting.

IMG_6146

Including this shot of a squirrel at the base of the tree in the center of the picture, not even realizing what stood right in front of it at the top of the picture.  When I realized a white-tail stood there watching me, I took a couple steps forward to change my perspective and got this shot.

 IMG_6147a

I got these shots because I was following a deer run, an important and easy way to find deer.

IMG_6150

Have a good day.

0 Responses to “Deer Runs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


