09
Apr
09

Young Buck on a Sunny Day

IMG_6598a

Two weeks ago, while hiking, I stumbled onto a small herd of about a dozen deer.  I took some photos and when I got home to look at them found that I had some nice pictures, a few of which I have shared here.  I enjoy taking pictures like these and wanted to take more.  So last weekend I went back to the same park and hiked back to the same spot, hoping to get more pictures.  After being there for about half an hour and not seeing any deer, I decided I was too early and the deer weren’t there yet, or I had been too noisy and scared them off.  I turned to leave and something caught my eye.  It turned out to be a stump roughly the same color of a deer.  The big fellow pictured above can be seen standing next to it in the center of the picture below.

IMG_6509

This young buck and I circled and paralleled each other for about an hour and a half.  He clearly would not be intimidated by me and during the whole time his tail stayed down.  White-tailed deer raise their tail when they feel threatened.

IMG_6535a

He let me take over two hundred shots of him, but he kept a very close eye on me.

IMG_6536a

Eventually he decided to leave and so did I.  Have a good weekend.

IMG_6565a

Click on any image to enlarge.

2 Responses to “Young Buck on a Sunny Day”


  1. April 11, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    You’ve done an admirable job of photographing these deer. I know how hard it is to lock focus on moving wildlife within a thicket of branches. You even managed to get the catch-light in their eyes. They’re beautiful animals, aren’t they?

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    April 12, 2009 at 8:19 am

    This buck makes my job easy. He poses for me. I’m hoping he’ll continue to pose for me while his antlers develop.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


