08
May
09

White-tailed Doe: The Head-Bob

IMG_9696a

I try to spend one day a week hiking in a local state park.  I find plenty to photograph and get some exercise.  I had finished for the day and began hiking back to my car when I noticed this doe at the edge of a parking lot.  I’ve mentioned before that White-tailed Deer, especially the younger ones, will do a head-bob to see if a predator will attack.  This doe has dropped her head, pretending to eat.  Her right ear has locked on me and so has her eyes.  My dad says that if two of a deer’s senses alert to a threat; whether it be sound and sight, sight and smell, sound and smell, whichever, they will run. 

IMG_9698a

When I did not attack her while she pretended to eat, she determined I was not a threat, but had alerted to a woman walking her dog about a hundred feet behind me.  Her eyes have locked on the woman and so has her left ear.  Her right ear has remained locked on me.  She saw the dogs and moved off into the brush and when the dogs had reached me, she ran.  The dogs never even noticed her.

0 Responses to “White-tailed Doe: The Head-Bob”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


