14
Nov
09

The Migration: Adolescent Bald Eagles

When I first saw these eagles and began taking pictures, I had thought I was getting a rare glimpse of Golden Eagles.  Golden Eagles rarely venture this far east, preferring the more mountainous regions of Western Canada, Western United States and Mexico.  It is common to mistake adolescent Bald Eagles for Golden Eagles and in my defense I’m not a wildlife biologist, I am a history major.  With that said here is a good picture of an adolescent Bald Eagle.

IMG_8085a 

This was a big bird and it cruised above me mostly by itself, while the other adolescent Bald Eagles left it alone.  The mottled coloring underneath helps to camouflage it, and, as you can see, it has not got white tail feathers or a white head.  In the next photo, which is somewhat overexposed, this adolescent has begun to get white feathers.

IMG_8109a 

One of the disadvantages of using manual settings on my camera and shooting wildlife, as happened with this photo, is that I was shooting toward some trees at the adult Bald Eagles across the river and this bird flew over-head in the bright sky.  I snapped pictures before I adjusted the aperture.  But as you can see the bird has white tail feathers, but does not have a white head, nor does it have a yellow beak.  Bald Eagles will get their white feathers somewhere between three to five years of age.

IMG_8112

2 Responses to “The Migration: Adolescent Bald Eagles”


  1. 1 Wapello Warbler
    December 16, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Hey, Randy, I like the redesign of your blog.

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    December 17, 2009 at 5:31 am

    Thanks. This template seems more suited to photos than the other.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


