20
Feb
10

Weekend Road Trip

I took a little trip this past weekend, traveling the back-roads of southwestern Wisconsin.  I stayed off the state roads and avoided the county roads, sticking primarily to narrow country roads which take you deep into farm and field.  Still many miles from the Mississippi River and with the Wisconsin River still mostly frozen I expected to see deer and did.  I did not expect to see an eagle perched in a tree on the other side of a field.

IMG_0230a

When an adolescent eagle began circling near it, I just thought I had happened across a pair of migrating eagles roosting, especially since the temperatures crept above freezing last week.  Melting snow and open water gets the animals moving and brings back migratory birds.  But when I saw another bald eagle followed by another, I wondered otherwise.  It’s a little easier to stop a car on these back-roads because of a lack of other cars.  So when I began seeing eagles flying right over the top of the car, I stopped and started taking pictures.

IMG_0404

IMG_0404a

IMG_0404ab

I lost count the number of eagles.  There were more than a dozen but less than two dozen.  Someone had placed a road-killed deer in a field and the eagles had been feasting.

0 Responses to “Weekend Road Trip”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


