02
Apr
10

Sandhill Crane Surprise

I enjoy the surprises while hiking the most.  I intended to hike for several miles yesterday before attempting to take any pictures.  Hiking is my primary source of exercise, but I haven’t been getting as many miles since I began carrying a camera.  I’ve learned that certain times of day just don’t work well for taking photos.  So I went to the park yesterday afternoon and spent about three hours hiking and scouting places where I might be able to get photos.  I had hiked about a mile when I got my first surprise.

IMG_2456a

I had walked up on a Sandhill Crane rooting around in a field.  The bird flew up in front of me and circled the field.  I took some shots thinking it would be close enough to get a picture even if it wasn’t the best time of day for shooting photos.

IMG_2459a

I hike for exercise but truth be known, I enjoy these surprises  like seeing and taking pictures of this muddy Sandhill Crane more.  After I spent about three hours hiking, I spent an additional two hours checking locations for deer and the marsh rookery. 

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources appears to be removing an ancient iron bridge that crosses over part of the marsh.  Because of that project it appears the marsh has been partly drained.  No geese or ducks could be found, but I got some nice shots of the deer.

IMG_2511a

Have a good weekend…

0 Responses to “Sandhill Crane Surprise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


