07
Apr
10

White-tailed Deer: Profile

I’ve read professional photographer’s blogs referring to certain light as the magical light.  Last weekend I split my time between hiking for exercise during the not-so-magical-light time of day with the sun high in the sky and everything top-lit, and then when the sun got lower in the sky I began taking pictures.

IMG_2644a 

What I learned from this more disciplined approach to photography – by that I mean waiting for the light – was the photos just seem sharper naturally.  But I don’t know about this more patient approach to natural light.

IMG_2644b While I like the results, I just don’t think I’ll be able to pass-up taking a photo because the light is bad.  Um, you’ve got a little something on your chin, deer.

IMG_2648a

She’s staring at several other deer about fifty yards below and has lost all fear of my being there.  She isn’t watching me or listening to me.

IMG_2648b

So now I have to remember to wait for the light.  I definitely like the results of these photos. 

I don’t use any tracking software out of respect for people’s privacy, so I don’t really know who reads this blog, I just have raw numbers.  If you are a professional photographer and are one who blogs, I am grateful for what you have shared.

0 Responses to “White-tailed Deer: Profile”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


