21
Apr
10

White-tailed Deer: Can You Get Closer

A few years ago I took a picture of a deer standing on the edge of the Wisconsin River.  The photo didn’t turn out very well.  Too much foliage and too little experience with a camera and the image turned out too dark.  I wanted to take a better picture than that, so I asked a friend of mine, who is a professional photographer, “How can I get a better picture?”

I had hoped for some technical insights about the inner workings of a camera, or maybe some advice on how to properly set up the camera for taking photos in conditions where the light is blocked.  Her reply was…well…somewhat disappointing. 

She asked, “Can you get closer?”

Dumbfounded or flabbergasted – words we rarely use today – jumped into my mind as I pondered her question.  Can I get closer?  So the problem wasn’t my lack of understanding how a camera works, the problem was me!

My answer?

IMG_3796a

Thanks to the many people who blog and share their expertise and photos on the internet, combined with my ability to “get closer” I can now get images I’m happy with.

IMG_3802a

Thank you.

3 Responses to “White-tailed Deer: Can You Get Closer”


  1. 1 Wapello Warbler
    April 21, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Excellent work! Is this Blondie?

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    April 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Thank you.

    Actually, this is Abby. Same extended family, but different immediate family. Blondie’s fur is really thick.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


