01
Jun
10

White-tailed Deer and Tourists

Knowing how Whitetail Deer react to my presence, I try to use the tourists to my advantage by having them push the deer toward me while I wait hunkered down in the brush.  It takes more patience now to get deer photos with all the people in the parks.  While I searched the park’s more secluded areas for deer, I found this doe laying down in the grass.

IMG_5267a

She stayed there, watching as I maneuvered for better shots, doing my best impersonation of a friendly human.

IMG_5272a

But, it’s tourist season.  The sound of approaching voices and me being there taking her picture proved too much for her.

IMG_5275a

She had alerted to the sound of the approaching tourists and decided she didn’t want anything to do with them.  She stood giving me a nice shot, and then turned back into the brush.

IMG_5277

I decided not to follow her and headed off in the direction of the tourists.  I walked passed two men, a woman, two boys and three dogs.  All the dogs were off-leash, in an area clearly posted no dogs.  Why, no dogs?  Because that’s where the deer, fox, and woodchucks live.  Dogs will chase them.  Wild animals will panic and with the extra traffic because of tourist season, you have the potential for a bent fender.

0 Responses to “White-tailed Deer and Tourists”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


