16
Jun
10

White-tailed Deer: Running Female

I didn’t stay near the fawn for very long.  I took a few quick photos and left it by the side of the trail.  I did not want to be the reason why the mother would abandon it.  I went back to the same spot about forty-five minutes later.  The fawn had moved somewhere else, disappearing into more appropriate cover.  Near where it had been stood a big doe.

IMG_5943

We surprised each other.  She had been foraging near some bushes along the left edge of the trail, while watching across the field.  I walked up on her left side.  She saw me and before I could even get a shot she bolted across the field.  I watched her run until she got into the middle of the field, where she stopped.  They always check their back-trail.  She decided she didn’t like my being there, which she displays by pointing her tail backwards and then continued running across the field.

IMG_5944a

Nothing runs like a deer.

IMG_5945a

0 Responses to “White-tailed Deer: Running Female”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


