22
Jun
10

At the Bird Feeder

I try to take photos every chance I get.  Lately, work is taking up too much time and if the weather doesn’t cooperate on weekends I end up with no opportunity to shoot.  This weekend I spent with my father.  When I had the chance I took the 300mm prime and shot photos of the birds at my parent’s bird feeder.

IMG_6371a

This Blue Jay visited regularly and seemed to scare off the other birds. 

IMG_6394a It ate mostly from seeds on the ground or from the suet feeder.  The main bird feeder above the Blue Jay is Squirrel proof.  The ledge the birds sit on to feed is spring loaded.  If something too heavy sits on it, the weight of the animal, like the Blue Jay or a Squirrel, will cause the ledge to close on the feeder, depriving the larger animals from feeding.

0 Responses to “At the Bird Feeder”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


