26
Jun
10

Whitetail Doe With Fawns

A couple weeks ago I took some photos of a doe I’ve taken pictures of since last summer.  She’s a friendly doe that is not afraid of me and has approached to within ten feet of me while I hike the park. 

IMG_5991

A few weeks ago I took some photos of her and realized she has been nursing a fawn or fawns.  This morning while hiking I caught a brief glimpse of her and her fawns.  She has two of them.  She didn’t stay long.  She disappeared into the brush with her fawns close behind.  The light wasn’t very good and our encounter took place along a very dark part of the forest.

IMG_6669

I reacted as quickly as I could, but the photos didn’t turn out very well.  Both of the fawns attempted to hide while their mother decided what to do.  She looked very nervous, but when she led them deeper into the brush her tail was still down, meaning she wasn’t afraid.

IMG_6675

I’m certain that within a few weeks she’ll be comfortable enough to let me photograph them properly.

2 Responses to “Whitetail Doe With Fawns”


  1. June 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    How very beautiful 🙂 you’re lucky!

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    June 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Thank you…this was a completely by chance encounter. I was as surprised as she was to see her where we were.


Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


