06
Jul
10

White-tailed Deer: Running Fawn

A morning drive this time of year can yield unique and easily obtained sightings.  As a passenger in the car, I had the opportunity to look around rather than watching the road.  Headed back toward an Eagle’s nest, I had been scanning the tree-line along the road’s edge, looking for perched Eagles.

IMG_6807

I spotted this doe along the roadside, where her and her two fawns grazed on the soft grasses of a farm meadow.  You can see she’s covered in flies.

Seated in the car I couldn’t get the fawns framed in the picture without getting out of the car.  Expecting photo opportunities, I had already removed my seat belt, but when I realized I couldn’t get the fawns in the frame, I knew I would have to step out of the car.  I expected her to run and before I could get the door unlocked she had bolted for the safety of some nearby bushes with her fawns in tow.  I got one shot just before one of the fawns disappeared.

IMG_6808

You can see the mother’s tail right of center in the photo.  The other fawn’s ears are just in front and below the visible fawn.

0 Responses to “White-tailed Deer: Running Fawn”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


