22
Jul
10

Bald Eagle at a Local Park

I had been out for a hike at Lake Kegonza State Park and decided to stop at one of the small town parks where I live.  This park is less than a mile from my house.  I only just recently began going to this park because there’s something there I like to photograph.  I got out of my car, grabbed my camera and began walking into the park.

IMG_7039a

I saw this Bald Eagle perched in a dead tree at the lake’s edge.  It didn’t notice me as I moved into the tree-line for cover.  I walked down to the lake to a spot I knew I would be obscured from the Eagle’s sight and hoped I would get a fly-by shot.  I waited about a half an hour and nothing happened.  The bad thing about being obscured from its sight was that I couldn’t see if it was still there.  So I took another trail which I knew would take me to the lake’s edge but wouldn’t offer any cover.

IMG_7080a

It noticed me about a minute later and flew away.

2 Responses to “Bald Eagle at a Local Park”


  1. 1 Wapello Warbler
    July 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Nice shot.

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    July 23, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Thanks…


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


