26
Mar
12

Manufacturing Light and Working on Your Craft

In this wonderful age of electronic anything and everything, from laptop computers to cell phones we carry in our pockets, one thing remains true for outdoor photography.  You cannot manufacture light.   I’ve learned that when the object of my photographic intent is lit from the side the photos turnout better.  Afternoon light tends to be harsh and causes the photos to look flat, while taking pictures on overcast days tends to make the photos look dull or even colorless.  So I wait for the light.  Either early morning light when the sun first rises, or late afternoon light when the sun sets.  I have also got places that I visit when I know the light will work the way I want it to work.  While the routine I follow is not carved in stone, with the state parks I frequent I try to be in certain places at certain times, which allows me to work on the craft side of taking photos.

20120316_498a

When the light is right, then all you need is something to shoot, which is why I look for places to shoot when the light is right.

20120316_167a

0 Responses to “Manufacturing Light and Working on Your Craft”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


