27
Apr
12

To Sit and to Watch

I guess it could be considered part of my American upbringing, but it seems natural to sit and watch.  We spend an incredible amount of time sitting and watching television in this country, but I always preferred being outside.  So, now, I take a folding chair that I use during the Summers for camping and carry it out to a spot at the lake or in a park and sit and watch.  The drama slowly unfolds around me as the animals accept the human sitting there.  If I spend enough time in a place they will actually begin to move around me as if I’m not even there, like the chipmunk who seated himself a meter behind me on a log, watching what I watched, or maybe just watching me.  Together we watched the drama unfold on the lake in front of us.  Here are some pictures so you can see what we saw.

IMG_3466a

Geese with goslings and a muskrat in the lower left corner.  Didn’t see the Muskrat when I took the shot.

IMG_3476a

While I watched the Geese swim through the algae and out onto the lake…

IMG_3519a

both of the adult eagles flew off the nest, less than a minute behind each other.

IMG_3531a

They headed in the direction the geese had gone.

8 Responses to “To Sit and to Watch”


  1. April 27, 2012 at 5:13 am

    What an utterly fantastic post – thanks for your wisdom. Sitting still is so hard sometimes but you capture the idea beautifully.

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    April 27, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Thank you…

  3. 3 Sofia
    April 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Oh I loved this post ~ the message and photos. It really spoke to me. I’m recognizing the benefits of ‘to sit and watch’ in my own life. This is a great post to welcome the weekend. Thanks!

  4. 4 Randy Roberts
    April 27, 2012 at 11:08 am

    You’re welcome.

  5. 5 Ed
    April 27, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    I love just sitting & watching, glad im not the only one!

  6. 6 Randy Roberts
    April 27, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Same concept as stopping to smell the roses, I just prefer to look at the wildlife. Thanks, for the comment.

  7. April 30, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    You absolutely made the right decision to take your attention outside and leave the TV behind. And such wonderful photos, too!

    Were the geese nervous about the eagle?

  8. 8 Randy Roberts
    April 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    The eagles flew off their nest about five to ten minutes after the geese swam out into the lake. While my 400mm lens is a good one they were much too far away for me to see what actually happened. And the eagles always draw my attention away from everything else. Thanks for approving of my non-TV watching ways and for the comment.


Leave a Reply

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


