01
May
12

Time to Find a New Spot

A few weeks ago I discovered a new vantage point, which gave me a few decent opportunities to capture eagles, geese, ducks and cranes in flight.  This passed weekend I noticed a distinct change in the bird’s behavior.

IMG_3326

Eagles love to grab air.  In the afternoon, as temperatures warm, thermal air currents will rise up from the Earth.  Eagles will grab these up-currents and float higher and higher into the air.  This eagle is up about two to three thousand feet at this point and from here I have read they can spot a field mouse from three miles away.  I had just sat down in my cleverly concealed spot when I looked up to see this eagle floating directly above my head.  The game was up.  I’d been spotted.  I knew the eagles wouldn’t fly anywhere near me, but I held out hope some of the other birds would.

IMG_3248

Four Sandhill Cranes had been flying directly at me, and then seemed to notice me sitting there and abruptly changed course.  They then headed away from me.  So my spot is tainted.  The birds are onto me.  Guess I’ll have to find somewhere new to shoot.

4 Responses to “Time to Find a New Spot”


  1. May 1, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I love that notion of grabbing air!

  2. 3 Randy Roberts
    May 2, 2012 at 4:23 am

    What can I say? Sometimes I accidently get the words right.


Leave a Reply

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


