20
May
12

Fawn: Not Abandoned

During the next few weeks I’ll encounter more and more young wildlife.  I know to leave them alone because their parents are nearby.

IMG_5927a

Fawns will lie down and freeze when they encounter something that frightens them.  Rest assured, the little tike’s mother is not far away, which leads to a second phenomenon.

IMG_5945a

I took these two photos from the same spot at different times on the same day.  I grabbed a few shots of the fawn.  I was very close to it, less than ten feet or three meters, when I took the photos.  About a half an hour later I returned to check on the fawn.  The fawn was gone, probably in the field with the tall grass where the doe is above.  The adult deer will decoy this time of year.  She had made sure I noticed her and then she put on a deliberate display of running away, knowing that if I was a predator, I would give chase to her and her fawn would be safe.

IMG_6009a

When they decoy they deliberately put themselves in harms way to try to lure potential threats away from their young.  This doe stepped out onto the hiking trail to attract my attention away from her fawns.

IMG_6010a

She led me along for about a hundred yards or meters before disappearing into the thick underbrush.

IMG_7233a

Here she is later in the Summer with both her fawns.

20120316_377a

This handsome youngster is the fawn from the first picture above, so, remember, if you encounter young wildlife alone, leave them be.  They are not abandoned.  You have just been lucky enough to encounter them while they are trying to remain hidden from predators.

8 Responses to “Fawn: Not Abandoned”


  1. May 20, 2012 at 2:55 am

    That first one is Bambi!!!!

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    May 20, 2012 at 2:59 am

    The “Bambis” are born this time of year, during the next two to three weeks.

  3. May 20, 2012 at 3:03 am

    great post randy, love the story about deer behavior, terrific photos 🙂

  4. 4 Randy Roberts
    May 20, 2012 at 3:05 am

    Thanks, I spend more time photographing deer than I spend with my friends.

  5. 5 Sofia
    May 20, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Wonderful post! Love the photos and story. Just beautiful.

  6. 6 Randy Roberts
    May 20, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Thank you.

  7. 7 narhvalur
    May 20, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Very good headline…I have worked in a Wildlife rehab center…. people come about 90 times per day with ” abandoned” animals!

    It’s Nature defence to leave the little one alone to minimoze predator act….

    I have told the Wildlife people to leave the chicks alone…. they became angry with me….perhaps you know I have had a little dispute with those people…. they have called me animal abuser!

  8. 8 Randy Roberts
    May 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    We call them “do gooders” here. Basically, they are people trying to do good without thinking about doing the right thing, which is to leave the young where they are. Thank you for the comment.


Leave a Reply

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


