30
May
12

Great Blue Heron: No Cooperation

IMG_5476a

Having seen a Blue Heron in the same spot on both Friday and Sunday morning, I decided to return on Monday morning with all my long gear.  I lugged a tripod, my camera, the 100x400mm lens, and the 2x converter back to the same spot.  Using this 800mm setup on a tripod, oh I was going to get some great shots.  I setup and I waited for the bird to step out of the reeds.  An hour and a half later, I knew I had been stood up.  So I packed up my gear and dragged it back to the truck.

This part of the park has an observation deck in the middle of the marsh, so I walked out there just to see what was on the marsh.  Guess which bird was sitting at the other end of the marsh, too far away for any decent shots, even with the long gear.  Yep, the Great Blue Heron.

Wild animals will rarely cooperate with our desire for photos.  When this happens, accept it for what it is, a learning experience, and then understand there will be other opportunities to get the photo.  These two shots are from the same shot taken Sunday morning.  I’ve cropped them differently to show you what would have been the difference between a 400mm shot at the top and an 800mm shot at the bottom.

IMG_5476b

6 Responses to “Great Blue Heron: No Cooperation”


  1. May 30, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Sandhill Cranes 🙂

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    May 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Me too…

  3. May 31, 2012 at 2:51 am

    He may not have cooperated in a timely fashion (an hour and a half is a long time for you and your gear to stand there!) but at least the heron did show up eventually! Your cropped shots from Sunday are pretty good! Thank you for those. I ‘m going to try to put one right next to the cranes, to note the differences. ~ Lily

  4. May 31, 2012 at 6:10 am

    all part of the fun isn’t randy, we wait and wait while they fly by in impossible ways, we soak up the bird song and the beautiful sights, and if we are lucky we catch a good photo!

  5. 5 Randy Roberts
    May 31, 2012 at 9:57 am

    The thing about that hour and a half is that it’s gone. Can’t get it back. So when I could have been shooting something, anything! I was standing there like Linus in the pumpkin patch on Halloween waiting for the Great Pumpkin. Oh well, I actually did get some nice geese and gosling shots that morning.

  6. 6 Randy Roberts
    May 31, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Fun! Yeah that’s what it is! You’re right though it was a pretty, pretty day and the early morning light was great, lighting the area he had been in perfectly. They would’ve been such great shots.

    I do have a set of bird photos from Sunday I think you’ll like. We don’t have the honeyeaters and exotic parrot-like birds you have, but we have plethora of woodpeckers, and I have photos of one of the more difficult woodpeckers to shoot.

    Will post those later, and to everyone, as always, thanks for the comments.


Leave a Reply

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


