01
Jun
12

New Lens

I just tried my new lens.

IMG_6003a

I bought a Canon 50mm F1.4.

IMG_6005a

So now I’ll be able to get wider angle shots, even though I would have liked to have pictures of the two Sandhill Cranes in the very center of this photo.

IMG_6057a

A nice close-up of this Eastern Kingbird would have been nice too.  I thought you folks might like to see what some of the area looks like.

IMG_6059a

Now I’ll be able to show you some of the places where I take photos.

IMG_6084a

I can even bore you with photos of my transportation.  For those of you who don’t believe in American made, my truck is twenty-two years old and still running.

IMG_6086a

Most people get it, some don’t.

6 Responses to “New Lens”


  1. June 1, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Ah the nifty fifty. You’ll love it ! Can get some great shallow DoF with it also.

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    June 1, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Thanks…most of my lenses are long 250mm or more. Tried to shoot a friend’s wedding a couple of weeks ago — indoors — the shots turned out horrible, so I decided it was time to buy a nice indoor lens. Will definitely experiment with the shallow DoF though.

  3. June 1, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    Happy DoFing (whatever that is!) It’s great to see your area and your truck which we would call a ute.

  4. 4 Randy Roberts
    June 1, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    That’s my college ride, Julie. I love that truck.

    DoF is Depth of Field. Cameras have an f-stop setting, in the case of this lens it starts at f 1.4 and goes up. The lower the number stop you use the shallower the depth of field will be and vice versa, the higher the number stop you use the deeper the depth of field will be. Lower numbers will get you a blurry background, while higher numbers will get more of the background in focus. Lower numbers allow more light into the camera, while higher numbers allow less light into the camera. That’s it in a nutshell.

    It’s all part of a phtographers trade, like a writing hook is to writers.

  5. June 1, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Ah, thank you for demystifying things!

  6. 6 Randy Roberts
    June 1, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    You’re welcome.


Leave a Reply

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


