15
Jul
12

Whitetail Deer at Necedah

I saw many Whitetail Deer while at Necedah National Wildlife Refuge, with over a dozen sightings on Thursday.  Some were far away, some were up close.  Some were skittish and ran away as soon as they saw me, others were curious and hung around to see what I was up to.

IMG_6699a

I spotted these two deer as soon as I got to the observation tower road.  There had been four deer, but two of them ran away as soon as I stopped.

IMG_6764a

I watched this doe and her two fawns roam up and down the shoreline for over a half an hour until she crossed below me to my right.

IMG_6841a

While her and her two fawns crossed below to my right, a second doe and her two fawns crossed below me to my left.

IMG_6859a

Taking shots directly into rising sunlight doesn’t always work.

IMG_6880a

But I’m not about to let poor light stop me from taking a photograph.  Of course not all the shots were taken from a distance.  I had several opportunities to take close in shots.

IMG_7031a

I could hear this doe working her way through the brush down below the tower.  I knew something big was moving through the brush and was kind of glad it was a deer.  Her belly fur is wet and she’s been nursing, so this may have been the doe who crossed below the tower and to my right.

I climbed down from the tower then and went back to my truck to get my lunch.  On my way back to the tower she was still wandering around in the brush but decided to run away when I stopped to take pictures of a second doe near the tower.

IMG_7042a

The second doe stood watching as the other doe decided to run away.

IMG_7053a

Then she watched me return to the tower.  I spotted many more deer before I left the refuge that afternoon.

4 Responses to “Whitetail Deer at Necedah”


  1. July 15, 2012 at 12:14 am

    These are so beautiful. It must be so fantastic to be able to see wild deer – we have none here. Your photos are great!

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    July 15, 2012 at 12:17 am

    Thank you…this is how I spend my vacations, looking for wild animals to photograph. There are a lot of deer in the refuge! Lots of deer in Wisconsin.

  3. July 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

    There are a few deer farms in Western Australia but that’s all. Love your work.

  4. July 15, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Great entry…..amazing pics!


Leave a Reply

July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


