15
Aug
12

Sandhill Cranes: In Flight

IMG_7277a

I had far more wildlife diversity this year as I learn more about how and where to find Wisconsin’s wildlife.  Whitetail deer are prevalent and easy to find.  So easy, in fact, I saw one on the way home from work one morning about three to four blocks from where I live.  Right in the middle of town!  Shooting Wisconsin’s elk has become an annual trip and then there’s Necedah National Wildlife Refuge.  Close enough to where I live so I can photograph there almost any time.

IMG_7284a

Because of this years draught the water levels have dropped significantly, so we had fewer appearances from eagles and ospreys this passed weekend, but the sheer numbers and types of birds still there left plenty of opportunities to shoot.

IMG_7288a

I had been going over to Necedah on Thursdays or Friday mornings, but this passed weekend I went over on Saturday.  I noted an increase in the numbers of people moving in and around the refuge.  Couples with children who didn’t have the patience required to see anything and of course the official state tourists from Illinois.  A couple from Iowa who travel all over the United States trying to get a look at the whooping cranes.  They stayed for awhile but left just before a pair of whooping cranes flew in.  I also met a newly Americanized kiwi.  A photographer from New Zealand who had just became a naturalized citizen.  I hope all these folks got a chance to see and photograph what they were looking for.

IMG_7296a

5 Responses to “Sandhill Cranes: In Flight”


  1. August 15, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    love the photography Randy 🙂

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    August 15, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Thank you…I love taking them.

  3. August 15, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Oh the synchrony – wonderful photos!

  4. 4 Shutterbug Sage
    August 16, 2012 at 1:35 am

    Such amazing pics, as always. I really enjoy following your blog!

  5. 5 Randy Roberts
    August 16, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Thank you, Sage. I enjoy your photos very much. I, especially, enjoy learning from other photographers and to see how they view capturing an image.


Leave a Reply

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers


