14
Sep
13

North Woods Vacation

I took a worthwhile vacation into northern Wisconsin.  I stayed at Day Lake just outside of Clam Lake, Wisconsin; which is where the Elk live.  The Clam Lake Elk are the most studied Elk in North America.  Besides seeing many Elk and getting photos of them, I discovered I didn’t have to go very far to photograph them.   Turns out, at this time of year, they live in the park at Day Lake where I camped, including the young fellow pictured below.

IMG_2336a

I took a walk at about three o’clock Thursday afternoon.  Walking along the side of a road, he stepped out of the woods about a hundred feet in front of me.  When I showed this photo to the campground host, he found it odd this young fellow was wearing a collar.  He was under the impression the males had all been imbedded with chips.  I had no idea.

All in all I had many opportunities to photograph the Elk.  I saw six bulls, eight cows and one calf during the week.  Most Elk I’ve seen yet on one of my trips to Clam Lake.  I’ll share more photos over the next few days, before I head out again.


0 Responses to “North Woods Vacation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


September 2013
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other subscribers