13
Jun
09

White-tailed Deer: A Change in Tactics

IMG_1801a

Like I said, I’ve changed my tactics.  I’m not known for being that patient, but am discovering that getting a decent shot takes patience.  Normally, I just hike back to areas where I know the deer live and grab a few shots.

IMG_1769

I’ll post a couple of before and after shots to illustrate why hiking back into their lair no longer gets the desired result.  A few months ago I found this lean-to built back in one of their hiding spots.  The picture above is what it looked like on Thursday.

 IMG_6570

This is what it looked like two months ago.  The forest has become so overgrown that going back to where they live no longer guarantees getting deer photos.  My change in tactics?  I’ve written about deer runs before.  Friday, I found a spot along a main deer run that looked well traveled, hid beneath a pair of trees and waited for the deer to arrive.

IMG_1814a

And they did.  As a hunter my dad used to find a pine tree with low hanging bows and hide beneath them, giving him cover from being seen while the pine bows would mask his scent as well.


3 Responses to “White-tailed Deer: A Change in Tactics”


  1. May 2, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Your patience for some fine shots paid off. These are great! I used to see a lot of deer when I was trail riding. They would linger for a minute and check out the horse ‘with something on its back’.

  2. 2 Randy Roberts
    May 2, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Thank you.

  3. 3 jan
    February 7, 2015 at 6:55 am

    Randy: I realize this is a belated comment re 6/13/09 photography, but here goes: FYI: “pine bows would mask his scent as well”, a comment from your dad. Bows is plural for decorations in hair or on packages. Boughs
    would be correct in the context in which you were using it.


Leave a comment


June 2009
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other subscribers